Homeland Healthcare Reviews

 
Homeland Healthcare
Homeland Healthcare

Homeland Healthcare Online Insurance Reviews

I called blue cross blue shield looking to purchase health insurance. I thought I was at first speaking with a representative from BC/BS and realized that I was speaking with an agent who told me that they were affiliated with Blue Cross and was a group insurance so I would get a group rate of $390 plus joining fee, to cover my son and me. They told me this plan came with dental and vision. I thought it was inexpensive because it was a large group I was joining therefore I wouldn't be paying an individual rate. Like the saying goes, nothing is too good to be true and this was no exception. After joining by automatic check they switched me over to sign papers verifying that I agreed to the terms. Again, that twinge of something doesn't feel right and relayed my concerns to them. I saw in on one page that Multiplan ppo wasn't a major medical company in accordance with ACA.

When I questioned it, I was told that was because they didn't cover maternity expenses. But they assured me my doctors and hospital were participating providers. They even knew the name of one of my doctors, (I shutter to think how they got that!) Ignoring my gut, I signed. I woke up in the middle of the night not feeling good about the transaction and began a more detailed internet search and I came across this site and began to read all of the complaints of experiences just like mine. I immediately called at 9:00 sharp to cancel as I was told I had 30 days to cancel. First, I was given a customer service number that disconnected at first ring. I asked receptionist to connect me. I got a person who told me his name was **, and I explained that I wanted to cancel the policy. He told me because I just joined, my paperwork was not in the system and I had to call the person who sold me the policy.

I told him to transfer me and was put on hold for half an hour. I called repeatedly and the representative was "always with another customer" and would call me right back, which he never did. I finally got through when I got to speak with someone because I told them that I wanted to add another person to my account. When I got a live person I told them that I wanted to cancel and she repeated that I had 30 days and I didn't need to rush. I told them I wanted to cancel immediately and AGAIN she verified my information and she would put a request in for my cancellation. I said, "No request, cancel me NOW!" Then she said the request was in and I would get an email in a couple of days.

I said I want verification immediately and then I was given another number, spoke to someone else who told me they get a lot of requests and it would take time and in a couple of weeks, they would credit back my account (which they took out of my account immediately). I went to my bank and told them the entire story and because I came to them right away that although the money was already withdrawn, they would put it back for me within 24-48 hours ($544.80) and I filed a fraud report. The bank told me when reviewing my statement, a big giveaway of fraud was next to their name on them my bank statement was their phone number. Legitimate companies do not put phone number next to the company name transaction.

So in the long run because I took quick action and went to my bank I was able to have the bank give me back my money. If I'd waited for them I most probably would have never gotten my money back and they could have withdrawn even more money if I didn't realize until after the month review period. PLEASE, save yourself the frustration and the heartache of being ripped off! RUN as fast as you can from these people. I never thought I would ever fall for something like this, I am always super cautious. But they got me. So grateful that I didn't wait any longer to follow my gut!

This business is a joke. They are a very shady. Was told that this was insurance that you could use to see a Dr any time you wanted but come to find out you have to call a representative to have the call and find the best price before you can ever see anyone. This is a joke - when I talked to the agent. She was informed me that this was a Gap basic/accident policy... so it is basically useless. Sure learned my lesson the hard way. Now to see if I get my money back.

After coming to this site, I have to say I’m not surprised of everyone’s comments. I too am a victim of this company, AWA/Homeland healthcare. I was with them 2 years. I had a claim, i.e., emergency room, doctor bill and stitches. I submitted my insurance info upon arriving to hospital. Eight months later, they (Homeland/AWA) have not paid a dime. Now, two of the four bills have gone to collections. Here’s the clincher: Homeland will not return my calls (three times) and will not respond to the billing dept of doctors and hospital. So I stopped payment from the auto deduct every month from my checking account. The very next day, Homeland has been calling me 3 or 4 times a day wanting payment. This is a shoddy company to say the least. Do yourself a favor and keep right on shopping for health insurance. If you have a policy with them already, beware! I would start looking around for something new.

This is the worst insurance. I had an ER visit for an acute migraine and the cost of the treatment was over $8,000 and the insurance paid $250. I am now struggling to pay the medical bills. This insurance is a waste of $330 per month. I have not been seeing a doctor because I don't have the coverage or savings to take care of my issues. In 8 months I will be on Medicare and can't wait to dump this lousy insurance.

Stay away from agents who represent Homeland Healthcare. Michelle **, an agent in Florida (**), told me she was going to secure health insurance for me with Cigna. The next day, my checking account was debited twice, $369.00 to Patriot insurance in NY and $238.00 to Homeland in Texas. When I called Michelle, she said it was a mistake and she would cancel the debits and have them refunded. This did not happen. Days later, I called Patriot and talked to a nasty, surly NY woman. After I told her that her attitude was bad and I would be filing complaints of fraud with the NY Insurance Commissioner, she finally arranged to have my policy canceled and the money refunded. I am still waiting for the refund to go through. When I called Homeland to do the same thing, I was told that they had no record of me. Beware of all of these online companies, Homeland, Patriot, and their agent, Michelle **.

I began coverage with Homeland in Aug, 2010 and ended coverage in July, 2011. I chose this company because I had a preexisting condition, high blood pressure, and was assured this would not be any issue. I filed my first claim in March of 2010 for a routine doctor appointment with blood work. My claim was filed and to my surprise, I was informed that I was not insured. Upon contacting Homeland I was informed I had been switched to another insurance carrier January 1, 2010. I never received an insurance card or insurance packet. I then received the new insurance card and refiled my claim and was then informed this company didn't accept preexisting conditions and would not be paying my claim which was for $166.71.

Choosing this insurance company was a big mistake. I paid $279.00 a month for a year and was denied a claim of $166.71. This company committed fraud by switching me to a carrier that would not accept a preexisting condition and not sending me the new insurance card and packet. They had no problem accepting my payments but took no responsibility for defrauding me.

Upon contacting Homeland regarding these issues, I was always given the run around. My final conversation with a manager at Homeland consisted of my being told "if you didn't receive the insurance package, take it up with the post office." That was the final straw. Dealing with this company was a disaster and a mistake. My overall experience with this company would be a zero.

I took this so called insurance out Nov 2014. John ** said "if you stay in ppo network you will be fine." I paid 339.00 up front. 100.00 for membership. I used the insurance in Mar 2015 for outpatient surgery. Got the bill. It was over 5,000.00. Called Freedom Life. They don't pay for outpatient or hospital at all. So I argued with the woman. So I said I been scammed. It didn't pay a penny. So the dr said I needed surgery that couldn't wait. On June 1 had surgery. This time it applied 3,000.00 and now I owe over 20,000.00 in bills. So this is a rip off and a scam. I sent them a notice on July 13, 2015 that they better cancel all this insurance NOW. So it looks like I'm going to have to file bankrupt because of this so called great insurance.

I was shopping for cheaper monthly premium than what my employer offers, this insurance broker called me offering $305 monthly premium for me and my wife and tells me I have $0 annual deductible and basically all kinds of doctor's visits, routine exams, hospital stays, etc. covered at 100%. The insurance company is "Companion Life" and I would have to mention "multiplan nationwide PPO" when I call my doctor. I usually raise my eyebrow when something like this sounds too good to be true but I still went ahead.

At the final step of signing the application, I read "This plan is not insurance and is not intended to replace any major health insurance" so I started asking more questions and of course led to more truth. Luckily, I caught it and thanks to users review on this website, I didn't sign the paper so hopefully my card won't be charged. The caller sounded smart enough to find a more productive and fulfilling job rather than cold calling all day lying on the phone and losing morals every day. May god bless him.

I was called on Monday morning by a person called Anthony saying he is from US Health Insurance. The offer was 80% coverage with only 20% out of pocket expense. He refused to give me the plan name saying without approval he is not supposed to give the plan details. He said the name is MULTIPLAN PPO from US HEALTH insurance. I registered with my details over the phone, provided my credit card details and they said a onetime application fee of $135 would be charged and a total monthly charge for the first month would be $435. The entire signing up lasted for less than 35 minutes and I had no glimpse that I am scammed.

After the signing up and agreeing to all their terms and conditions, he hung up saying I would get the brochure in 5 working days. After that, I searched the web and found this website saying it's a scam. I immediately called my Chase Bank and told them the whole story. They suggested to me to cancel the credit card and they would provide a new one. That's it. Anthony called me a day later saying my payment did not go through and to get the things right. When I told him that this is a scam and I read in the web, he immediately hung up. Thanks god!!! I was narrowly saved.

A couple of months ago my husband was shopping for health insurance because the insurance offered through his employer is exorbitant for a family. He came across this company and he was told that they offered PPO insurance that would accept our current doctors. This was imperative for us as we have a child experiencing a chronic illness that requires multiple monthly doctors visits to a variety of specialists.

We paid the first payment and waited for the cards and policy information to come in the mail. I was expecting the signs of a legitimate policy to materialize, such as a book within network doctors, etc. When the cards finally came, I was immediately alarmed by what I saw. A "dental" card that required an additional $50 payment after a "free trial" and a discount prescription card, as well as a discount medical card. What the actual hell?!?

At this point, I was really concerned and talked to my husband and he reiterated that he was told that this was PPO insurance. The cards we received clearly stated "this is not insurance." So now I'm pissed, I googled the company online and came upon this website with multiple stories similar to our own. I then proceeded to cancel my child's cardiology appointment scheduled for that day. I now have to rush to find legitimate insurance prior to the next specialist appointments or I will have to cancel those as well. I am incensed! We have already paid this company hundreds of dollars for what only amounts to a discount program. I will be filing a complaint with the FTC immediately and I suggest that anyone else who was scammed by them do the same. I am appalled at their unconscionable behavior and they should not be allowed to be in business, in my not that humble opinion.

I do not know anything about Homeland Healthcare and I did not authorize the $328.00 to be taken from my account. I have filed an affidavit with my bank to have my money refunded. Also, I had to cancel my debit card so no more money can be taken from my account. I have spoken to no one at Homeland Insurance, but would appreciate someone contacting me to refund my money ASAP.

I was told by "Monica" after she got in touch with me after I signed up on the healthcare website about all the great deals from her company. She told me it was a multi plan PPO and that it was shared from United Health/Blue Cross/Cigna and that it came with dental, vision, hearing, and RX along with that, it had no deductible and it covered myself and my son for $338 per month but I had to sign up to see the policy. One month later I have some plastic cards that are good for some discounts @ some places and what I have now come to think worthless health insurance. I replaced existing health care insurance that cost more $ with what I think turned out to be junk. BTW that I have yet to send me a policy to review.

This company pays very little to the doctors; my co-pays are way too high. I had to turn down 3 procedures my doctors ordered, because the total cost to me would have been $1,000 - outrageous! They pay $25 for each procedure.

FACT: No provider in this country can legally offer a plan or enroll a member outside of the national four month open enrollment period which runs from November 15th through February 15th! I was enrolled outside of this timeframe, discovered nobody I went to was in the network. A frustrating call to their hotline revealed that anyplace I went, this would pay only the first 75 bucks and if by some miracle I went to a provider in this phantom network, nobody could tell me what the discount or coverage deal would be since every provider contract was different. I probed further asking what levels of coverages even existed as provider participation options and got no answer, just an offer to sign up as a provider which I am obviously not. OMFG how does this place not get raided by some governing body of compliance agents??? Does any government regulatory bodies exist that do anything in this country anymore? Page after page of consumer affairs posts is not enough evidence to warrant shutting this scam down? ** Christ! This is as blatant as shooting a cop in a police station!

I cancelled my plan today. I asked for a refund and was told no by your customer care representative. Now I know why they want payment before you can see what the benefits really were. Then, they have the audacity to charge a non-refundable enrollment fee. News flash: you have to refund every dime of people's money when you are guilty of misrepresentation, i.e. fraud. I will be reporting this to Consumer Affairs, the BBB, and the Federal Trade Commission and have my bank go after this company as well. There are enough complaints which are comprised of the same issues to validate an investigation.

Well, I will see what happens. I did not agree to a $99 app. fee that was not refundable. I was surprised to see that. I also got a call from a man which is considered a "cold call"; I do not like their set up. None of my doctors are listed. He told me I wouldn't have any co pay or deductibles. But in the long run, I will, because of the low payments that they pay. My hospitals also are not in their network. I feel this was a big mistake. I will try to talk to someone tomorrow and, if I have to, I will go all the way to get my money back.

On or about March 22, 2012, I went on the internet to find health insurance. My husband retired and I was no longer covered by his health insurance. We did a search and entered information on myself to get quotes from different insurance companies, so we could decide who to contact. After we did that, we looked for a local insurance agent to go talk to face to face. We received a call from some insurance agent who has seen our application we made online for quotes. My husband told me to tell her we are not doing any health insurance over the phone or on the internet, we have had bad experiences doing it that way and he told me to hang up. She called back within a few minutes and asked to talk to my husband, she introduced herself as Michelle and stated she just wished to tell my husband how to stop the phone calls from insurance agents.

Michelle stated all he had to do was tell the insurance callers that we had health insurance and to remove my name off the list. My husband asked her who she was with and she stated she was an agent with Cigna healthcare, my husband told her we were going to see a local insurance agent and talk face to face. Michelle stated to my husband that seeing a local agent, we would have to pay an application fee and I would have to have a physical before I am going to receive a health insurance. Michelle stated that with her doing the quote, Cigna would not charge us an application fee and no physical was needed. So my husband and I gave Michelle the information about me and my health history. Michelle then stated that with Cigna, my premium would be $264.00 per month and no application fee. Also, what my policy covered as far as doctor visits and once a year, I could get a wellness exam, with the physical and lab work and x-rays and pap smear, mammogram, etc. and there would be no charge with Cigna.

So we signed up and gave her the information she needed to get my health insurance with Cigna health insurance. Michelle then stated that in the next week, we would receive a packet from Cigna health Insurance with the insurance card and my insurance would start effective on the 15th of April 2012. I then had to do a recording to verify my statement to receive Cigna Health Insurance and to okay that Cigna could debit my account for payment. Michelle also stated when we receive the packet, if we did not like it, we could cancel and get a full refund of our money. She also gave us her direct phone line to call her if needed, which is 1-877-599-7770 ask for Michelle or ext **. We thanked her and that ended the conversation.

On the morning of the 28th of March, my husband checked our account on the internet and there was a debit from Homeland for $379.00. He told me we had to go to the credit union in the afternoon to see what that was and that we did not authorize Homeland to debit our account. In the afternoon, we received a packet in the mail address to me. I opened it and it was some kind of supplement health insurance from Homeland Healthcare. My husband then said it must have been Michelle who gave Homeland Healthcare my debit card information and they debited our account without my authorization, as the only authorization I gave was for Cigna health insurance to debit our account. At 8:00 in the morning of March 29, 2012, my husband tried to call Michelle a few times to no avail. He than called Homeland healthcare and talked to them and told them we did not authorize them to debit our account and that we wished to have them give us a refund of the money they took - $379.00.

The man stated that if we cancel, he would refund us $264.00 but keep $115.00 for application fee. We then stated to him that the agent Michelle gave us an insurance policy with Cigna health care and only Cigna was to get our money. We also told him we had been advised to file complaints with the Better Business Bureau, Consumer Affairs, Louisiana Insurance Commissioner and the Attorney General of Louisiana for insurance fraud. I canceled the insurance I did not request and we told Homeland healthcare we wanted full refund of our money. He stated he would tell his supervisor and they would call me. The phone number we reached Homeland healthcare was 1-800-493-4240 or 1-866-973-4651. His supervisor did call back and my husband told her about Michelle and Cigna and she transferred us to Michelle. My husband told Michelle what we were advised to do and Michelle gave us no reason why she gave my debit card information to Homeland healthcare and that we wanted a full refund of our money.

We believe, so does others, what agent Michelle did to us was fraud by giving our debit card information to another health care insurance we did not request. We signed for Cigna health care and was told by Michelle several times that we were buying Cigna health care. Today, we filled out the forms at our credit union so they have this information to pursue recovering our $379.00.

As a recent widow I was in need of affordable insurance. My mother looked up insurance companies for me as I did not have a PC at the time. She called the 877 number for Homeland Healthcare and explained to them that I was widowed and also sick myself with a rare blood cancer and needed a policy that would cover my treatments. These people are good at misleading customers about the insurance coverage they will receive. It sounds really good. They've made an art of conning people. I purchased a policy called UltraCare Value. Basically, I was told the very same things that everyone else that filed a complaint was told.

Needless to say I was devastated when I found out that this policy would not cover my treatments. I called and actually did receive a partial refund and was told the rest is non-refundable. It is $115.00 they owe me. That may not be much to some but here I sit without insurance, no steady income, and no treatment. No one cares because everything is about the all mighty dollar.

I needed personal health insurance for pre-existing conditions. The lady was very nice, but evasive. She also said that pre-existing conditions were no problem. I asked her to please send me the benefits in writing, etc. and I would decide. She said she could not. I did continue to speak with her and I agreed to sign up for a $400 policy, but it would not go into effect until the middle of March. I received a packet and it was nothing more than a discount card. On March 1st, Homeland Healthcare deducted $500 from my bank account for the $443 policy. I did call and cancel the policy and they did. They put back $399 into my bank account and they kept the $99 application fee. I wasted a lot of time and energy and I am still looking for insurance with pre-existing conditions, it is very hard. There is no such creature.

Homeland Healthcare transferred our supplemental family health insurance policy to American National Medical and Life Insurance Company on November 22, 2011. Their letter stated, "Update Regarding Your Membership Benefits: American Medical and Life Insurance Company would assume responsibility as the underwriter for the policy." It also said, "We are confident they (AMLI) will provide robust membership benefits to serve your long-term health, wellness, financial and small business needs." They did not disclose that the new American National Health Insurance Company policy they transferred me to was a change from the original contract.

My original agreement was for a supplemental policy that would cover 40% to 60% of medical costs without a deductible; the actual amount of payout would be determined by Homeland Healthcare on a case by case basis. The new American Medical and Life Insurance Company policy, I later found out, would only cover up to $1,200 for surgery, with no lab benefit. The price I paid per month was $399.00, which did not change. The benefit statement from American Medical did not say that there is, in fact, what they call "a schedule" which they use to determine whether any of this $1200 total surgical benefit would be paid.

Before I had colonoscopy last year, I called American Medical to inquire whether and how much they would pay if I had a colonoscopy done. The person I talked to told me that they would pay $100 toward the doctor's visits and $1,000 toward the surgery. I had the colonoscopy, and then American Medical denied the claim based on this schedule that had not previously been disclosed. I canceled my policy effective Feb. 15th 2013. I submit that these two companies did not disclose important changes to my policy. They gave me reason to believe that they would make payment on my upcoming colonoscopy, and then denied payment based on an undisclosed "schedule", which was not a part of any of the paperwork that I have been sent. They did not ask me to sign that I agreed to any changes. I submit that Homeland Healthcare and American Medical and Life Insurance have not done business in a forthright manner.

Homeland Healthcare never sent out any policy information for me to review. I called to cancel the policy after finding medical insurance elsewhere due to no information received from HHC after the application process. No full refund was given by HHC. I phoned customer service to cancel the policy. The phone call was supposedly being recorded - GOOD! I explained there was nothing received from HHC as far as a policy by email or by postal. I had moved on to seek alternative medical insurance since I felt I had been scammed by HHC. In the conversation with HHC to cancel the policy the representative hung up the phone on me when I requested a supervisor so I can obtain my refund. They said they would give a partial refund to my Discover Card. Why a partial? I received nothing from them. It’s called "cause and effect". You scam me - I cancel.

I have received a call from this company after the death of my husband. I was told all the great benefits. Now with them not covering my health needs, I am in debt to hospitals for over 6,000 dollars. I have tried to cancel but still have them taking money from my account. This has been very devastating to me financially. I wouldn't recommend anyone dealing with this company. Today I called to cancel. The women said she would have to transfer my call to get the information. When she came back on, said that department was in a meeting and she COULD take my information. So I've paid for Nov, Dec, Jan. Looks like I may have to pay for Feb. Going to go to bank and pay them to stop paying this rip off company.

My story seems to be the same as everyone else... EXCEPT they asked me for my SS #, My husband's SS #. No one else has mentioned if that was their experience. In less than 12 hrs My bank fraud dept cancelled my card to stop all charges so they would no longer have my banking info. I'm more concerned they have my SS#. So now was instructed by bank to report them to credit bureau which I will. Very mad that I fell for scam.

I have been using this insurance since May 2012. I applied with Homeland Healthcare, but I received ID cards for AWA - part of US Health Group. My prescription for arthritis medication was denied. My provider for my C-PAP supplies was not in the network. My doctor visit co-pay was 2 1/2 times what I paid with my previous insurance provider. I was sent by my doctor to get an x-ray, which cost over $1,300.00; but the plan only covered $175.00. I now owe the hospital $815.00. I was able to get my prescriptions at Wal-Mart for the same price that I paid at Walgreens with this insurance coverage that cost me $314.00 a month. This is not medical insurance. I have since cancelled my coverage.

If I could give a "0" star review for this so called health insurance company, I would. First of all if you do not what they are providing you they will talk to you like you are dumb. Secondly, I was oblivious to think that this "health insurance" company would provide me with all the coverage I need. Luckily I cancelled before they took more of my hard earned money. These health company or whatever they are, are absolutely HORRIBLE. Stay clear.

I got a call from an insurance agent who told me about this great plan, no deductibles, no co-pays. I paid $798.00 for plan for 4 (on credit card) but they did not send in any paperwork. I faxed the company, saying that we did not want it and were disputing the charges due to fraudulent and misleading information relayed to us.

On Oct. 3rd, 2012, I was looking for insurance online. I received a call from Karen who was very nice and seemed very helpful. It is $303 for the 1st month and $99 enrollment fee, no deductibles, no co-pay. I signed up and then when I called back to get some more info, she was either on another line, out to lunch, or voice mail. I cancelled and am waiting for refund. No one mentioned this insurance company's name, only: Multi Plan, US Health Group, Freedom Life Insurance Group. When I received an email with membership number, that's when Homeland Insurance came up. When I mentioned Consumer Fraud this morning, presto, an email confirming my cancellation. Whether I get a refund is another story. Watch out for these people who know exactly what to say to make you think it's a good insurance. This experience has been and still is stressful and scary. I will go to an insurance that is heard of even if I have to pay more; it's worth my peace of mind!

I was accepted, despite them knowing my pre-existing conditions. The company took the payment, but when I needed bloodwork, and a doctor's appointment, they refused to pay. They have taken over $950. I have also sent in all the required paperwork they asked for, at my expense. I am very unhappy, and I hope it doesn't hurt my credit, as now I am late paying the lab bill. I have to pay these bills in full, out of pocket. My credit may be damaged, and I will have to look for another insurance company. It is also causing mental anguish.

I was contacted by an agent of the US Health Group who offered me medical, dental, vision, and life insurance for no deductible. I was floored. He went on to explain that they pay 80% and I pay 20%. The life insurance was worth $25,000; it would cost me $228 per month and a $99 non-refundable enrollment fee. I never received a packet.

When I checked my account for the deduction, it had been done by Homeland Healthcare! Who the heck are they? I called the agent back to inquire, and he said something about them being the financial part. Finally, I got a one-page letter, an Rx card, and a medical card with the name Freedom Life. Who in the heck are they? Then, I was really tripping. I went to the website to read about my newly acquired benefits. They were worthless. No wonder there was no deductible, because the coverage was limited and the payout is pathetic. Then, I discovered that the life insurance automatically terminates at the end of the month when one turns 65, so if I'm not dead by 65, my family gets screwed!

I filled out the cancellation request and sent it by email with this comment: "This is a fraudulent company, just like all of the complaints I have read. The agent told me some crap, which were all lies. Now I know why you want payment before we can see what the benefits really were. Then, you have the audacity to charge a non-refundable enrollment fee. News flash: you have to refund every dime of people's money when you are guilty of misrepresentation, i.e. fraud. I will be reporting you to Consumer Affairs, the BBB, and the Federal Trade Commission. Either you refund my entire $327.00, or I will have my bank go after your company as well. There are enough complaints which are comprised of the same issues to validate an investigation into your company's business practices. I expect an immediate refund."

This was the response I received the very next day: "Thank you for e-mailing Homeland HealthCare. My name is Jessica. I can definitely help you with your cancellation request today. I have forwarded your cancellation request to our administration department. It takes 24-72 business hours to process a cancellation. You will be notified via e-mail once the cancellation has been completed. The complete process takes 7-10 days for the refund of $327.00 to be issued back to the account from which it was drafted."

So for those of you who do not know how to handle the situation, do exactly what I did, and say exactly what I said.

I am not sure what to call it exactly but the entire thing was a complete joke. My top complaints include; Insurance agents and management lied about the coverage over a recorded phone line, not small details either but actually told me I had dental and that turned out to be a lie later when I was told by another associate that it was not part of the coverage I had with them. They would not send me any email or details of the coverage until I would make a payment so by the time I figured out how horrible the whole thing was, I was out of $200 that never got it back nor did I receive any medical care or services at one time because I couldn't find any clinic in network.

This is A scam. They tell you they are Blue Cross Blue Shield. It is A lie. I received insurance cards cost 200.00. They Refused to give me my money back. They hung up on me. Very Rude! Also the phone number on the card is not even their company! I had Doc office call this is when I found out! So Reporting them as A total SCAM!!!! They go by Cardinal Choice as per the card they send you!

I have a very similar experience with this "great insurance company" but on top of everything my agent sold me a life insurance policy without even mentioning even a single word. She explained the $160.00 charge as a one time enrollment fee. The only one reason I even found out about it was that after reading all the reviews and doing some researches I decided to cancel my health insurance and called HII directly. After 46 min waiting on hold I was told that I only had 10 days to cancel my life insurance policy! I was in shock. I end up filing a complaint and escalating to the next level so they made an "exception" and refund me my "one time enrollment fee" (been waiting for two week now). So PLEASE don't sign up for this scam!!!

I signed up for AWA insurance under Homeland Healthcare under the pretense that my prescriptions would be less expensive than I currently pay without insurance. I currently spend a little less than $500 per month on medications which keep me working and playing like a 30-year-old despite arthritis in spine and hips due to old MVAs. Let me be clear, I am not looking for a handout. I am and always have been a functional, hardworking, society contributing, tax paying citizen since I was of legal age to become employed and to pay taxes. That being said, I was mislead by the sales person who sold me the insurance and told me I would pay 50 to 70% less per month on these prescriptions and in addition, I would be able to see doctors as needed. More details were given but space here is limited.

I first noticed the incongruencies at the pharmacy. The Pharm techs and the pharmacist told me I would pay more for ** with the insurance, which only provided a discount card for prescriptions, than I normally would, without insurance (the sales person specifically looked up my 3 drugs and quoted ranges in price, all not true). I returned home, called AWA with the 1800 number and they answered my questions re: doctor visits (they only pay for refill visits, not "sick visits") re: ER visits (they do not pay) but I was assured that they pay up to $2500 for surgeries. So I tried to think of a surgery that cost that little. I came up with mole removal... I politely declined staying enrolled in the program and was refunded my one month premium in good time yet I feel I was cheated and lied to by the vendor. I want my $99 back for my fraudulent phone call.

They have now changed their name to Peace of Mind Health Solutions. BEWARE!!! 0 friends, 1 review,1.0 star rating 2/6/2017 SCAMMERS!!! Please beware! I called to sign up for insurance and spoke with an Ian, he assisted in explaining that this company was partnered with all the major health insurance companies and that they assist in getting good rates. I asked for information on the plans, he asked my price range, and some doctors that I go to, to see if they were available for the coverage, and Ian explained the PPO plans in my area. After stating that was a bit too high for me, he then recommended their personal plan which I was told was a total of 227.95 per month that included dental then they mentioned an $170 enrollment fee. They also had my doctors in the network.

After stating that was a bit too high Ian then told me he would waive the enrollment fee for me. I added vision, and it came to about 256.95 total. I explained what I could afford at this time, I was then told they could take installments. He told me then they could break down the payments and they would take 214.95 today, and then take the rest 2 weeks later. I then waited almost 2 hours for "verification" while waiting he told me the questions they would ask, provided me with a contact phone number (866-205-8046) for customer service and said they would be there to assist with any issues, and mentioned a 30-day refund. He then gave me a policy number and stated no one could speak to me about my policy, without providing the number to me first. The phone hung up, I was called back from a Florida number (**). It was Ian.

I continued to wait patiently then verification came on the line the agent never stated her name, she only stated she was from the "verification team" she proceeded to verify the information with me on a recorded line, when we got to the pricing part, the total amount I would be paying today, was 298.95 I told her that was incorrect, as I was only supposed to pay 214.95 (this is when it was fishy). I then asked her how 298.95 minus 214.95, equaled the amount I was scheduled to pay 2 weeks later, the difference was in fact more. She then brought Ian back on the line, and he proceeded to tell me that there was still an enrollment fee and to take note that he was able to save me money on my policy. He proceeded to tell me that I would be required to pay this amount because he did this for me.

I thanked Ian for doing what I thought was HIS JOB (finding me the lowest price possible) then I explained, that I was not willing to pay a cent more than what I was initially told. He then said he didn't know if he would be able to get this removed, I then explained that I had been waiting for 2 hours, and he failed to mention anything about this additional fee for enrollment, and I was clear on what I'd be paying and I refused again to pay any more than 214.95. He then told me he would get the fee waived. The verification specialist came back on the line and verified the correct price. We proceeded, I was scheduled to have coverage at 12:31am EST the next day and receive my insurance cards via email. The next day I went to pay my credit card and I noticed a declined amount for 298.95 (they tried to take the larger amount).

Luckily, I had only placed in what I was willing to pay, and the payment was declined, I proceeded to call 866-205-8046 and I spoke with Andrea (she did not state this policy number), she then told me they did charge me the incorrect amount she does see where the error occurred and it must have been a discrepancy with the billing department. She then told me she would call me back in 15 to 30 minutes, to find out what happened and explain and assist me further. I never received a call. I then began receiving calls from local numbers and out of state numbers ** all asking me for heath care, when I told them to stop calling they just hung up and called back.

The next day I called the number back and received an immediate voice message "This is Peace of Mind Solutions we are currently closed, our normal business hours are Monday through Friday 8am EST." This was at 10am on a Wednesday morning. I called back, same message, I called the number Ian called me from, same message. I then googled "Peace of Mind Solutions" I found 5 complaints from the BBB regarding a number which I called and guess what? Got the same recording! Similar if not worse experiences than what I had endured.

I then found out that their coverage is not even legitimate, and they do not provide refunds. I called again the second day, same voicemail message, all Day. The following week I called again and got through. Guess what? They were using new names (no policy# given again)! Luckily I was able to change my card information and that payment did not go through. Hopefully, this can help someone else before they get scammed! Please beware of this company!!! They are A FULL-TIME SCAM!

I was shopping for health insurance and went to Blue Cross/Blue Shield where I was turned down due to prior health issues. The next day, I got a call from a lady at Homeland Healthcare who told me they represented all the major health insurers and she could find me coverage. I asked her to mail me something to look at. She said she couldn't but asked me what doctors I saw and what drugs I took. I gave her all the info she asked for. She said she would call me back when she found a company and policy that would work for me. About two hours later, she called and said she had found a great policy that would pay doctor visits, hospital, lab and prescriptions. She said all but one of my doctors were a member of the group called Multiplan. She had me log onto my computer with her and look at the info online.

It appeared that indeed all my doctors were members of Multiplan and would accept a lesser payment for services thus making my $50 additional payment money in my pocket. It also appeared that all my drugs were covered for $10 or $40. Most in the $10 group. There was a $99 application fee. I told her I wanted to think about it and look over the website some more. Later that day, a man from Homeland called me and took my application and banking info. I got the packet in the mail about a month later and it appeared to be what she told me on the phone. Until, I tried to use it. None of my doctors are in Multiplan. None of my drugs are covered. I get small discount at the drugstore (about 10%). I emailed them last month to cancel and have had no response so I emailed again tonight (with a read receipt attached). No one answers the phone. Someone needs to do something. This is wrong.

I took out a policy for my son who is disabled. No one ever spoke to my son because I took care of all of the business. The company really doesn't know if he is a real person or not and yet, when it comes down to cancelling the policy, they won't let me authorize it. My credit card number is used but I still can't stop the payments. Hippo is out of the window since the salesperson never spoke to my son to begin with. I am the one that had my voice recorded and not him. He never spoke with the company.

Just updating my initial complaint. I did some research and Homeland Healthcare in Allen, TX does not have a license yet. Their license is pending. Everyone should file a complaint with Better Business Bureau and your state insurance commission. There are websites for these places in your state. Maybe together, we can stop them from ever getting the license and get our money back. Good luck to all. Hopefully, someone will hear our complaints and do something about it.

I was notified about health insurance. I listened to a woman named Princess (I should have known) and a man named Jeff discuss affordable medical coverage and I asked all the questions about my personal needs ($479.00 later). I was told it had medication coverage - lie! I was told it was not a discount plan - lie! I am so angry I was up over 30 hours researching insurance and the information I should ask! I will start again and pray I can find someone who makes an honest living!

I was browsing the internet to find health insurance. My husband had previously lost his and he had been laid off. I filled out a request to have someone call me from Homeland Healthcare. I received a call from a gentleman named Mike (has a Jersey accent and originally from Jersey). I made it very clear to him that I needed prescription coverage and I needed the medicines that my husband and I are on to be covered. He said he had checked and knew for sure that the prescriptions were covered. I knew these prescriptions were expensive (the reason why I needed medical insurance to pay for). He promised me more than once that they would be covered.

I felt real positive about the call with him and he convinced me they would be covered. I paid $498.00 for this insurance (Markel Insurance Company), the silver plan. When I received my packet in the mail, it was nothing like he had said over the phone. I had ran out of my prescriptions and went to the pharmacy to get them filled with my new membership card. The first time they ran my card, it wouldn't go through. I called the number on my card and they explained to me that they would have to run it again and it would --that it was a fluke that they couldn't fix. Second, the pharmacist said "this doesn't have your name on it". I said it had my husband's and it said member plus spouse (which didn't go very well with them). However, they accepted and ran it through.

Mike had explained to me during our phone call that all brand name medication would only be $24.00. Well, the pharmacist said that one was $600 and something and the other was $300 something. I was unable to fill them. Both of the prescriptions that I take are very important. I get very sick without them. I called Mike right away, he said he would straighten this out. He kept putting me off saying "give me 10-15 minutes" or "give me 20 minutes". Finally, he said "I will call you tomorrow morning". By noon, I had figured he will not be calling so I called him. He said I will call you back in a half hour. He finally called back a little over an hour later, I had missed the call and he left no message. I called him right back. He said there was no insurance that covered my prescriptions. I said I had an idea. How about they refund my $498 and cancel me so I could put that towards my prescriptions?

I was real sick at this point. He said, "that girl is really upset God" and hung up on me. I called customer service and they transferred me to a machine. I left a message and they never called me back. I kept trying, explaining what had happened and they would say it is in progress. I called the office where Mike works and asked to speak to a manager. He said, "what's wrong?". He wouldn't let me speak to a manager and every time I would call back, he would answer before a receptionist would answer the phone. I do not want anyone to go through this. One of my medications had 3 boxes, so the doctor sold me one box for $200 and we had to buy the other for $300. I have not received my money back yet. On the paperwork I received, it says that I can review the plan and cancel within 30 days and get a full refund. These all happened the same day it was effective.

I thought the only place in America you could legally get screwed was in Nevada. This is a scam for people that want insurance to get less than minimal coverage for a relatively cheap price for peace of mind ONLY. They are taking full advantage of the times and probably do not expect anyone to pay more than two or three months and cancel. They pay practically nothing and promise everything. If it is worth 3 or 4 hundred a month for you to state you have coverage, it is a fine program. It is a scam of the lowest nature imaginable, and is just barely above the law to avoid prosecution. They pay virtually nothing and merely will negotiate a lesser settlement with hospitals on your behalf. It is truly "sucker coverage" for desperate folks that need care.

Other Reviews