VSP Vision Care Reviews

 
VSP Vision Care
VSP Vision Care

VSP Vision Care Online Insurance Reviews

Below is a letter written to VSP. If my company did not have affiliation with VSP, I would leave them in 1/2 a heartbeat. If they take any action, I will update you all:

I have just been informed that this upcoming Jan. 2014, I will not be able to have my frames covered as well, that is until 2015. It is ABSOLUTELY LUDICROUS that you have the stipulation that if I got the contacts, that it pushes back the frames. If I can get my lenses (for the glasses) renewed, and not have the frames pushed back, then the same should apply for the contact lenses, considering the price difference is minimal. I have not even used any of the contact lenses that were purchased almost a year ago. Either way, this was NOT pointed out to me. The "My Benefits" is NOT EXPLICIT, and I am VERY UPSET. My optometry office was not aware of this stipulation, and even YOUR EMPLOYEE believed it to be unclear. I am extremely unhappy.

I've paid my money now I want what I paid for. Is that an unreasonable request? I purchased prescription glasses using VSP. My first set of lenses was either made incorrectly or incorrect instructions were sent by Teagle Optometry in Valencia, CA. They had to send them back, stating it'd be "a few days" to get the new ones. 8 days later, nothing. I finally persuaded Teagle to look into it. They discovered that the lab that VSP requires optometrists to use in Sacramento, CA has a LOT of returns. My new lenses were made, but didn't pass quality control, so they were making new ones. And though a reasonable person will think that order would immediately be remade, apparently the VSP lab does things differently. I'm now at the bottom of the list, and it will take ANOTHER week for them to be made.

I told Teagle they need to TELL THEIR PATIENTS that VSP requires them to use a substandard lab that has lots of returns and takes a LONG time, giving us the option NOT to use VSP if we choose. I guess you get what you pay for. I will add that I never received any membership information - no card, membership number, no email confirmation, nothing. I sent at least three separate emails requesting this, and they FINALLY sent me an electronic copy (in a nearly impossible-to-open XPS file, not the common PDF. It took me a good half-hour to even view it). I have never received any other membership info by mail or email. Nothing.

This company has a ONE YEAR cancellation policy. You heard that correctly. ONE YEAR. I purchased a family plan in August of 2016 and was automatically renewed in 2017. I made the mistake of using benefits at the beginning of the year (in Aug. 2017). In December of 2017, I got a new job that offered vision insurance (through VSP of all places). When I called VSP they would not cancel my policy because I had used the plan. I am now stuck paying $75 a month for the next 10 months while having double coverage. I spent an hour on the phone and there was no resolution. You're better off just paying cash with a credit card-- all VSP is a lay-away plan anyway.

The plan we are paying out of pocket for has less coverage than the rider vision plan we are getting with our medical insurance. Coverage and prices are not worth the private pay. My overall experience with the company has been ok, but not satisfied with their rates.

What a joke! The premium does not get you a good deal. It is subtracted at the provider level so that you end up having them cover exactly the same amount as your premium payment! There's no savings! There's no value to having this plan! It restricts your doctor choice and gives you nothing. I got an email today to tell me THEY renewed my policy after I had cancelled it! A month after they put it into effect. When I called to again cancel this policy, they have no provision to provide the customer with email of proof of the conversation. Really?? This is the year 2016. No value, poor service, poor coverage. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

I keep getting disconnected when trying to update my credit card, third time I finally got a lady but she wouldn't do it. Even though she had me pulled up. She said, "It's not my department." A. You have me pulled up. It's not rocket to delete a card number and enter a new card number. If I go online to their website you're unable to change cards there too. Typical call center mentality. Worst customer service ever.

I can't explain how AHS did a contract with VSP for its employees. Very limited coverage; very few providers contracted and ridiculous reimbursement policy.

My husband went to the eye dr the 9th and was told glasses would be ready in 1 week. Here it is 3 weeks later and still no glasses. The glasses order was sent to VSP lab and I have heard 3 times that they are going to be shipped later today only for them to say they did not pass inspection and had to start over. If you have this insurance do you ever really get your glasses? Don't use VSP unless you can wait at least a month for your glasses. Will never have this insurance again!

I tried calling them one time to cancel because I didn't have a job anymore since I worked around cat litter and jumpy dogs. I didn't want to put the burden of all of my financial responsibilities on my Fiancé so I called VSP one day to see if I could cancel my plan. I was told I couldn't because it's a 12 month contract and it automatically renewed. Do know, I did not see anywhere on the USAA page where I signed up for it to say that they put "it's mandatory I stay on the 12 month contract and can only cancel within that month" and automatically renews. I also had no idea it renewed without my knowledge. I didn't get an email or anything in that matter. I told them “how do you expect for it to be paid then?” And they told me “maybe with a credit card or find help.”

I think it's complete bull crap when someone can't financially pay for something anymore they shouldn't HAVE to stay with the plan and it should be clear from the start on the sign up page that it is a 12 month contract that you can't cancel until its time is up. So for your sake, once signed up for the policy you're locked in for the YEAR and cannot cancel it no matter the circumstances. Don't get me wrong at least they covered most of my visit to the eye doctor except 30 bucks but that's because I went to an eye doctor that would cover most of the expenses anyway. It's not worth getting this kind of plan honestly.

I have spent almost three hours on hold over three days to simply change my credit card number. I need to update my auto-pay. I have yet to get a representative in the billing department. Writing them has done no good. I also cannot (and never could) log into the account with my log in information. I tried to re-register and could not do that either. As soon as I can, I will cancel VSP. It is a waste of money and a terrible company with which to try to do business.

Would have cost $450 to purchase contacts at my eye doctor, however I found them online for $275. I was not permitted to use my VSP $120 contact allowance towards this purchase. I saved more $ by purchasing a Groupon to cover my exam and paying out of pocket to purchase contacts online and cover all my eye care needs, canceling this insurance ASAP.

I received my glasses and when I tried them on, the left eye was incredibly blurry. It was much more blurry than without the glasses on. I called Eyeconic and spoke to the rep explaining that my right eye was OK but my left was worse with the lenses and he told me that I would have to visit my optometrist to check the glasses or get a new prescription. I could then ship them back for a "redo". I pressed him to review the prescription that the glasses were made with (there is no confirmation of the values in the box or emails) and we figured out that the left eye was entered as +0.75 instead of -0.75.

He assuringly said I uploaded it as +0.75 and said over and over again he couldn’t see any minus in front of that value. I couldn't believe it -- I was looking at the same PDF as I uploaded and it says -0.75 in the same size font as the right eye which is the same value. He said regardless, there's nothing he can do. I'd have to print out a new prescription and mail the glasses back to have a redo done.

I asked to speak to someone else and another guy on the phone, taking tips from CSI, confirmed that “by using another software” he could see the minus mark. It seems that Eyeconic’s system downsampled the images uploaded and it didn’t show the minus in the smaller preview. That, or someone fat-fingered the prescription. In any case, this shows you a problem with Eyeconic’s system. You have to upload a copy of your prescription but nowhere does it allow you to enter the values yourself or confirm that whoever is entering the values on your behalf is doing it correctly. Getting these values right is literally Eyeconic’s business -- you should be experts in taking prescriptions online and ensuring they are correct.

I had to send my glasses back -- which is a trip to the UPS store I didn’t want to make and made me print a return label on a printer I didn’t have. I received an email thanking me for sending in my redo reminding me “Please note, you are only allotted one exchange or refund per order”. Within about 2 or so weeks, I should get my finally get some usable glasses.

This experience has been garbage. None of this was my fault. I uploaded a clear prescription, it's perfectly legible, it has my optometrist's name and number they could have contacted if they had questions. It doesn’t make sense that this uses my one “redo” when it was Eyeconic’s fault for entering the prescription. It was a hassle to return and the process takes too long. If you order from Eyeconic, do yourself a favor and follow it up with a phone call before they ship to confirm the prescription was entered correctly.

I called to cancel my membership and they told me I was locked in for a year. There is nothing that states that. I paid out more for my visit than my membership. The people are rude and the business is a joke!

Purchased a new pair of lenses and frames on July 2014. In November 2014, a week before Thanksgiving, I returned my new glasses for a warranty repair due to a nick in the lenses. Was told 10 business days for the fix. As of this post (5 weeks later), I have followed up with the eyeglass doctor that took my order (and accepts VSP insurance) 4 times, and each time, have been told that per VSP, "My lenses didn't pass inspection, they'll be shipped out in an additional 3-5 business days." Because of this, I've gone back to wearing my old prescription that has been causing some fairly decent headaches and eyestrain (even before my new prescription was issued) and today, after my 5th follow up, was told again that maybe next week, my glasses will be in their office and that they didn't pass inspection.

I was offered a second pair of frames and lenses as a way for VSP and/or the eye doctor to make restitution for the extremely long and unnecessary wait and frustration I'm experiencing, but I haven't agreed to accepted anything. VSP is a very poor insurance benefit. Go out of pocket if you can. May cost more, but at least you'll get to see again. The additional cost will offset the frustration.

Wow. They overcharged me. Said they were putting me on one plan and they put me on another that didn't provide the services I paid for. Wouldn't fix the problems. Their website sucks. Their support by phone is useless. With this great plan, I paid more for my doctor and glass than if I'd just paid the doctor directly. Why bother?

You need to be careful if you are selecting these crooks. Everyone and their mother knows what "Copay" means. When I go to my doctor, I have a $20 copay...means I pay $20 and the insurance picks up the rest. Apparently when VSP (Very ** Program) says a contact lens exam is a $15 copay, they actually mean they pay the $15 and you pay the rest! WTF!?! So I'm paying $16/month to get $15 off a once/year exam??? Does anyone have some ocean front property in Arizona they want to sell me...I'm buying! Hell, most providers don't even apply the $15 anyway...it's a joke and more hassle than it's worth. They just discount the exam by $15...probably because they would have to pay someone more than that per hour to fight with them to get paid!

I have a claim to submit for a pair of glasses and the online process has failed each time I tried. The phone number I called is only a voice menu and I am unable to speak with an actual person. I have tried on two separate occasions without success and do not know what else to do at this point. When this first happened I sent my complaint via an email as instructed by their website and was supposed to receive a response within a day. After three days I have heard nothing. Argh!!!

I got my vision checked on 10/12/2016, my order was submitted and I was told by the optometrist's office that I would receive my glasses within 2 weeks. I called on the day they were supposed to be in, nothing, give it a few more days (2). Called again, give it more time (3 days), and we called them and got you a monetary rebate due to your trouble. Called again (2 days), and was told that the lab was supposed to call me. Strange, I didn't get any calls.

I call VSP and nothing is noted in my account. At this point I have been waiting 3 weeks and nothing is noted as being out of the ordinary even though they are supposed to call me. I raise hell. "Oh we had a computer issue at the lab." (10/14/2016 if you're curious.) "The optometrist wasn't supposed to quote you two weeks. They should be quoting 3." (Funny they get their estimates based on what VSP says.) "And the first pair failed QA, we're remaking them, and there IS a priority on your lenses now. For all of your trouble we'll get you another pair of lenses for free, just provide the frames."

I was told there was an outside chance I could get my glasses by today 11/4/2016 (but most definitely by 11/7) and when I called VSP (to cut my optician out of this, it's not their fault) their CS tell me no it's not shipped, and after they called the lab, it's going to be ANOTHER WEEK BECAUSE THE SECOND PAIR FAILED QA TOO!

I'm tired of waiting. I want my glasses, I do NOT have an accurate pair now, and therefore my eyes are getting worse the longer I wait. (I have a 20+ yr old pair that is about half strength of what I need on my bad eye.) Maybe someone will figure out how those darn newfangled computer machines work and learn how to cut the lenses and apply coatings correctly. I'm scared to send them my old frames now from the reviews I'm seeing.

My first experience with VSP was 2 years ago. I went to JCPenney who was offering 2 pairs of glasses including bifocals for $99. I got the no-lines and polycarb as extras - cost: $234. Even with no insurance, that's pretty reasonable. Good thing since VSP covered NOTHING. Not in network. Now I'm ready to replace glasses again. I have a script in hand. I called VSP. I got a list of providers in my area. Guess what? They're all the smaller businesses that NEVER offer deals as described above. Price for ONE pair can hit $350-400 easily. Sure VSP covers a significant amount of that, but you are still left with significant out-of-pocket, and it’s for ONE pair. I could have gotten twice the same product at Sears or JCP for almost NO out-of-pocket. Guess who's getting screwed and who's getting the best part of this deal. The economics of this company makes no sense.

My wife called the number on our vision card from Guardian which has the VSP logo on it. She spoke with someone and told them she wanted to go to a certain eye doctor that was recommended to her. That doctor was out of network but the person at Guardian/VSP said they cover basic eye exams even if out of network. So my wife went to this eye doctor for the exam, then took prescription to an in-network provider to get glasses. Well we got the bill, submitted it to VSP and got denied. Call them and they have no record of telling her it was fine and won't pay it. Useless insurance if they won't even pay for a basic eye exam. Really sucks to pay the monthly premium and then get stuck with a bill for a routine eye exam. Don't trust their word or you'll end up paying.

I have VSP for free.. Priced out my admittedly top notch poly, transition, anti-scratch, thinner, Varilux Physio, self-tinting at VSP in network vs no insurance same quality lenses/frames at any online retailer.. Bottom line? Same price! They inflate the price to then offer you "discounts/allowances", oldest pricing strategy in the world. If you get it for free like I do, then it is a wash.. If you have to pay for it, forget it and do some online research. I ended up paying $560 even after all in network benefits. VSP retailer told me they only make a small amount of $$ (which I doubt) as they have to use VSP labs for the lenses and only get a small dispensation fee for the lenses. Where they try to make their $$ are the frames (which they get 100% margin benefit of).

Have had VSP through retirement plan at a fairly exorbitant $15.70 per month. Got glasses at Costco. They were initially unable to verify that I had coverage. Optician was not busy, worked with me for ONE HOUR going through their phone trees to verify that I have coverage, but could get nothing else out of their phone tree. Optician recommended that I try Google to get their main number.

After a great deal of entering and re-entering my phone number and SSN, was finally transferred to a client service representative who verified that I had coverage, but Costco was out of network. I would have to fill out a claim form for reimbursement. She agreed to mail me a claim form in five to seven business days. I have no idea what I will get, but am eligible for one pair of lenses and frames, and the total cost at Costco is less than I pay in a year for this fraudulent phony insurance scam. Their system is designed to efficiently collect monthly payments, make it difficult to cancel, make it extremely difficult to contact them, and make it nearly impossible to collect a claim. Save yourself the grief and avoid any dealings with VSP.

VSP has a very nice scam going for MANY of their members. Here is what happened to me: I went to the VSP site and clicked on "contacts" and got directed to the Eyeconic website which is owned by VSP. I then purchased my contact lenses and received them a few days later - so far so good! When I got my reimbursement from VSP, they gave me the out of network reimbursement of $105 instead of the in network reimbursement of $130. Hmmm... let's see, I purchased my contacts from VSP-owned Eyeconic who your website directs me to when I click on contacts and then you reimburse me at a out of network provider?! I called VSP to ask them to explain, got passed from one person to another and NO ONE could explain why that is. In fact one person told "half of our members 30 million people are reimbursed the same way."

I guess this would be like trying to return something to Nordstrom and they tell you even though your item has a Nordstrom tag in it we don't carry that brand! How can VSP's own contacts distributor be OUT OF NETWORK! Well do the math - VSP keeps an extra $25 bucks, they also sell you the contacts and they make out like bandits. WHAT A BUNCH OF CROOKS!!! I will be taking ALL 85 of our employees off of VSP and will NEVER return to them. I asked the last person I spoke to at VSP to find someone who can explain to me why a VSP-owned distributor is an out of network provider and call me to explain this... It been several weeks and I am still waiting for the call! DO YOURSELF AND YOUR EMPLOYEES A BIG FAVOR - STAY AWAY FROM VSP!

I will not be renewing my VSP Insurance for 2015. As others have stated previously, the plan will only pay the full allowance if you purchase glasses or contacts through in-network providers. The problem is that the in-network providers charge much more than other providers. I was going to purchase eyeglasses through Sam's Club, but VSP was only going to pay $47.00 resulting in a net cost of almost $200.00 for progressive lenses. The net out-of-pocket cost would have been the same (or even higher) using a VSP in-network provider. I was able to purchase glasses on-line through Zenni Optical for much less without using any insurance. Contacts can be found much cheaper on-line than through a VSP provider.

Trying to cancel before your year ending date is impossible. The coverage is poor and the cost is too high. I have not used the insurance for two years and when I tried to cancel was told I would have to wait until September. This company in a sham and should be investigated for its poor service.

I went to the OD I have used for years. I have VSP coverage through a retirement plan. When I selected a pair of glasses, I was unaware that the narrow height of the lens would make it impossible for the progressive bifocal portion of the refraction to be ground on it. Also, no one mentioned the problem to me and all of the frames they carried are the trendy, Asian gangster style, skinny wrap around. When I picked up the glasses, I immediately began having headaches. When after a month I took the glasses back, I was told that VSP only covers the frames carried by the office. If I wanted any other frame, I would have to bring it in and VSP would not reimburse me for the cost.

I asked for a refund and after threatening to take my complaint to Discover, I was given a credit to my Discover account. When I went to another of VSP's providers, I was told that I could not get glasses for another two years as I was just fitted for a new pair. Calls to VSP resulted in no help. I finally dropped VSP and bought a pair of glasses that worked for $167. That was far less than the $321 up charge VSP made me pay. Bottom line: What is VSP good for? In my case, absolutely nothing. And yes, I do remember the 60's.

VSP and Eyeconic are terrible partners. Benefits are dramatically oversold and the partner Eyeconic website is simply one big scam. Price double the normal, and ridiculously poor service. I would advise dropping VSP - it simply is not worth the money, and check the fine print on the benefits is you are still interested.

Next time you decide to make changes to my calpers account you better notify me. I was not notified of being switched over to vsp advantage, you had no right. I should have been given a choice. I'm not an obama care crony. I have the right to know. You manage to take money out of my check manage to notify me. Just for the record, your survey won't let me mark 1 star. It goes your way, bs. I would not recommend you and all 1 star against you.

I used to like VSP and always brought them business but not after today... Today that wonderfully fruitful business relationship comes to an end. I will never use them again. I tried to cancel my membership today and I was told I'm "locked in for a year"... The end of the year is in 9 months. They had me set up a MANDATORY monthly auto withdrawal. I explained to them that I've had a serious change in circumstances and am facing a hardship (I lost my job and am currently unemployed)... They didn't care, the rep stated their policy still stands.

What a load of **! This company cares solely about the dollar and most certainly not about the members! I don't do business with shady companies like that. Never again. This is the most asinine, ** policy and it only pisses people off. VSP will end up losing so much business over it. I'm young and if I were happy with VSP (had this situation not happened) I would have canceled and come back as soon as my employment was resumed with a new company. They would have made so many thousands of dollars from me, over my lifetime, to add to their (already hefty) bankroll. But, alas, another ** company bites the dust. Good riddance. On to their competitors I go, with the long list of other dissatisfied ex-members in this complaints log. Extremely Disappointed Soon-To-Be-Ex-Member.

I enrolled with VSP as an individual 4 years ago when I retired. I'd had the coverage through my employer and had been satisfied with it. The individual coverage has sucked. First of all I tried to set up my account on the VSP website but could never get the account set up. Phone calls were a waste of time as I never got to speak to a live person. As so many others have mentioned, VSP does not disclose that cancellation can only take place during your annual renewal period. Since I never got a renewal notice how was I supposed to know that? They don't provide a statement so I had no idea what they actually paid towards my glasses. My provider (in network) had difficulty getting approval. A nightmare to work with and EXCEEDINGLY poor customer service.

I know that VSP insurance sends their glasses to their own optical lab and that they do a very poor job at putting their glasses together. Not only that but the few places that do take VSP Insurance raise their rates to make up for the difference of what they are actually paid. I have some frames that retailed for $99.00 and Focus Vision charged $300 to make up the difference of what they thought they could steal from me to make up the difference in what VSP GIVES THEM. It's a total scam. Good luck dealing with VSP. You're better off just paying for the glasses yourself than paying their recurring residual.

I signed up for VSP insurance which was $12.61 monthly. I found out I already had vision insurance. I called VSP to cancel and was told I had to pay for an entire year before stopping my membership. I find this wrong and I feel I am being robbed!

Went for exam and new glasses. Found them to be very expensive. Very little coverage under the insurance they sell. Did the research and discovered they are a non-profit insurance company that owns lenses, frame and many other products stipulated through their insurance as the only products covered and sold at excessively high prices. The end result is paying nearly as much with their insurance as you would by not having it. It is a scam and anyone covered under their policies is a captive audience with little or nothing they can do about it.

I was notified recently by my optometrist that all VSP customers can no longer get their frames and lenses produced at their own lab, and must be sent to VSP designated optical labs. Once I was told of the change, I also had to sign a waiver that I cannot make my optometrist liable for any damages to my frame and lenses due to VSP negligence. I naively believed that VSP opticians are professionals, and didn't think much about this odd waiver I was signing.

It took 2 wks for my lenses and frame to get done, and upon receiving them, I was horribly disgusted and shocked by the shoddy work done by VSP opticians. My right lens was misaligned and my frames bent (including the screw that kept my lens hinged). There is leftover glue that surrounded my lens and frame, as it seemed like a last minute triage save to keep my lenses from popping out completely. There is an obvious gap b/w my right lens and the frame. It's a matter of time for my lens to pop out. VSP, if you're reading this, you need better QC with your optician staff and services. Clearly NOT acceptable.

VSP is a marketing strategy that allows employer to pretend like they are offering vision coverage. First, no decent eye doctor will accept VSP because the reimbursement rate is too low. Second, the doctors that do accept VSP will require additional "up selling" and including unreimbursed services to make up for VSP. This basically means they get you in the door with the "free" eye exams and overcharge you on everything else or require a bunch of extras so you end up paying more than you would have, had you visited the doctor you want to go to in the first place!

Going out of network is barely worth the effort. They will reject claims on technicalities and require re-filing. Everything has to be mailed in. It reminds of how rebates used to work! The amount covered out of network barely exceeds the premium paid so it's hardly worth the effort. If your current eye doctor happens to accept VSP, you hit the lottery and VSP might be worth it. For all others, avoid.

I enrolled in VSP in 2017. In 2017 my wife and I both had exams and ordered contacts. The plan states that I can get contacts every other calendar year and glasses every other calendar year. Which I understood to mean contacts one year, glasses the next. Nope. I tried to get glasses in 2018 and was told I wasn't eligible for contacts or glasses until Jan 1 2019. So, basically I am giving them an entire year of premiums (2018), with no benefit whatsoever. Why does anyone sign up to pay annual premiums for a benefit that is only usable every other year? I could and should have declined the coverage after the first year.

My 2nd complaint is that they do not honor the terms of their own out of network reimbursement policies. We used a Costco optometrist which they said was out of network (despite what you may read on the internet about how Costco takes VSP, this applies to the optical dept not the Dr). The exams were $84 each and they should have reimbursed $45 each according to their own policy. They paid $32 for one exam and nothing for the other. Yes, the same exam, the same day, with the same doctor, paid $32 for one and denied the other stating "Your plan does not provide coverage for additional service with the same benefit. Period". The coverage was for "Employee and Spouse", and they denied my spouse's very first claim calling it "additional service with the same benefit. Period."

I was pleasantly surprised with my experience. I work for a Fortune 100 company that offered the VSP Choice plan. I was a bit skeptical of how good the insurance would be, so I carefully examined the summary of benefits. Before I made my appointment, I checked the VSP network online and I was happy to find that a major vision retailer was actually in network, as it seems that many people have had trouble finding one.

I was shocked to find that the majority of the cost of my lenses and frames were absorbed by the plan. I was able to find a pair of beautiful designer metal frames. My lenses were a combination of high-definition, lightweight premium polycarbonate, transition lenses with anti-reflective coating. I saved $505.99 by using the VSP choice plan. My overall cost without using insurance would have been $574.95. To sum it up, I paid about $79 out of pocket, and was very pleased!

There are a few bittersweet qualities in using this plan, though. I noticed that one could either use the vision plan to get prescription eyeglasses or sunglasses, or use it for contact lenses... but NOT both. I also noticed that if you do choose to have an elective contact lenses exam, the plan would only pay 15% of the cost with a maximum $60 copay. Compared to the eyeglasses benefit, this seems a bit "lopsided." All in all I left the vision center with a smile on my face. With a purported 7-10 day turnaround time to have my glasses ready, I'm hoping they arrive quickly!

I cancelled service with Vision Service Plan, and they continue to debit my account. This predatory behavior is illegal.

Here's how it works. You are required to get your glasses or services through a "VSP doctor" or provider. The "VSP doctor" or provider has vastly inflated prices. You then get "benefits," which are actually "adjustments" that bring what you pay back down to usual retail. Little or no dollars are paid on your behalf. Case in point, at Marin Eyes, the charge for two progressive lenses was $530. The VSP Vision Care "adjustments" were $337. I had to pay $193; this is high retail. I called VSP and asked them how many dollars were actually paid to the provider and was told that this was "confidential." So I pay $20 per month for the privilege of paying full retail.

I purchased transition lenses back in August 2015 while VSP was offering a $20 rebate on such purchases. I promptly submitted the correct rebate information online. It is now late December 2015 and I have yet to receive my rebate despite several emails to their customer service dept. All I keep hearing is "Due to large demand there is a delay and my rebate is in final processing". I am ready to report them to the attorney general's office, they seem shady and count on people to forget about it so they can keep the money!

I apply on VSP on the last week of August 2013. Ten days later, I decided to cancel it because I was able to get my first glasses. I was told that I will be refunded for the full amount of $22.83 and it will be mail the check within 30 days. I receive the check on 10/28/2013 and the refund was $12.83. This is really terrible. I contacted the customer service and spoke with Veronica which is a no HELP AT ALL. She only told me that If I wanted my full refund I need to submit a email request. I was mad and angry. This experience that I had with this company is not acceptable. I know I am not the only victim on this. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYBODY AT ALL. Poor customer service. The company never cares for you. DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS COMPANY.

I ordered my glasses in 2014 early November and was told I would get them no later than the first week of December 2014. The first week of December 2014 I was told they lost my frames & I needed to select another frame. The frame I sent in was very hard to find and I could not find another as small. I finally received my glasses in the second week of January 2015. They used regular thick plastic and not the thin polyester ordered. The same day I submitted my 2015 glass order and a frame. Three weeks later I am still waiting for my glasses and a call back from VSP customer service. I will use another insurance next year and dump VSP.

If I could give them a Zero I would. Two years ago one of their in network Dr's took 3 times to get me glasses that actually worked and had the gall to tell me they were going to charge me for the new lenses that had to be redone. I was always under the impression that you should be able to see with new glasses... silly me. They are supposed to know how to measure people for a prescription. This year I went back to my old eye DR who is out of Network. VSP is refusing to cover my exam because she puts down I have dry eyes which is medical and not cover any of my exam. What a RIP-OFF. I get this through my employer and will not be signing up for this coverage next year. I will also be sure all my co-workers know of this. What a farce of a company!

Our family is allowed only an annual visit for renewal of glasses or contacts. My daughter has been identified as a therapeutic patient due to eye ulcers. Because of this if she has any irritation she is instructed to throw out the contact and return to glasses until irritation is gone. This of course may require an excess of contact lenses. Now I don’t have a problem paying for additional lenses I object having to wait EXACTLY a year to see the doctor. Last year we did not purchase glasses so her prescription is over 2 years old. Now she is out of contacts and her insurance is not good until the middle of January. And this is eye care?

My husband's job offered VSP...I have worn eyeglasses most of my life, my husband has a weaker prescription. We both purchased name brand lens..VSP paid $180.00 allowance...with transition lens, and poly lens. We paid only out of pocket including our copay $153.00. Being that I have worn eyeglasses forever this was cheap, not to mention I normally pay $500.00 at least for one pair. VSP saved us hundreds not to mention our frames came back from their lab in 5 working days not the 10 to 14 days! Really happy with VSP. Loyal customers!!

So, my employer gives Safety Goggles to all thru VSP. VSP says no goggles unless you need a prescription. Wait, so if I've great eyesight, I'm SOL? Whatever.